Richard P. Howe Jr.
Register of Deeds


Middlesex North Registry of Deeds

360 Gorham Street - Lowell, Massachusetts 01852 - T.978/322-9000


Middlesex North Towns

Billerica Carlisle
Chelmsford Dracut
Dunstable Lowell
Tewksbury Tyngsborough
Westford Wilmington

All other Middlesex County towns are in Middlesex South District


Send Email

Registry BLOG

Directions & Hours

Homestead Info

Electronic Recording

Recording Fees

Indexing Standards

Property Tax Info

Sales & Foreclosure Reports


Secretary of State

Follow us on Twitter


Declaration of Homestead

A major revision to Massachusetts Homestead Law took effect on March 16, 2011.  

To read the full version of the new Mass General Laws chapter 188, CLICK HERE

To download a blank Homestead form CLICK HERE

To download a blank Homestead form for property held in trust CLICK HERE

The recording fee for a Declaration of Homestead is $35 and the Homestead becomes effective immediately upon recording.

Blank Declaration of Homestead forms are available at our Customer Service Office.  If you come to the registry in person, you can fill out the form, have it notarized and record it, usually in less than five minutes.  This service is available from 8:30 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.  Bring the a government issued ID (such as a driver's license), cash or check for the $35 recording fee, and a self-addressed, stamped envelope. 

Homestead Questions

A Question and Answer pamphlet on the new Homestead law is available on the Secretary of State's website - CLICK HERE

You can also use the above link to chapter 188 to read the Homestead law, but don't hesitate to send your questions to us by email.